Comparison

Flit vs Typeless

Nothing to meter

Cloud, metered by the word

The short answer

Flit is the local, buy-once answer to Typeless. Typeless sends your speech to its servers and meters it by the word: 8,000 words a week free, unlimited for $12 a month billed yearly. It covers macOS, Windows, iOS and Android and reaches 100+ languages, which Flit does not. What Flit removes is the whole apparatus: no account, no meter, no queue, and no retention policy to trust, because no request is made at all. If you write across 4 platforms or need 100+ languages, Typeless is built for that. If your writing happens on a Mac, Flit is the one where nobody is counting.

Side by side

  Flit Typeless
Where transcription happens Your Mac, no cloud path Their servers
Your words are metered No. Dictate as much as you like 8,000 words/week free, unlimited on Pro
Data retention Nothing to retain Zero retention stated
Price $49 once, up to 2 Macs Free 8,000 words/week, or $12/mo billed yearly
Account required No Yes
Platforms macOS only macOS, Windows, iOS, Android
Works with no internet Fully No
Languages 99, all local 100+
Personal dictionary Yes, learns with permission Yes
Knows your codebase Indexes it locally Not stated
Team controls and SSO No Yes, on Enterprise

Compared against Typeless’s own published information. “Not stated” means they do not publish that detail. Prices change, so confirm before you buy.

Why people pick Flit

  • Nothing is sent, so there is nothing to retain. Zero retention is a policy someone maintains; making no request is a property you can verify.
  • Nobody counts your words. There is no weekly cap, no meter, and no tier that unlocks more of your own speech.
  • It works with no internet at all, on a plane or in a basement.
  • No account. Typeless requires one before you can dictate a word.
  • $49 once against $144 a year, which the subscription passes in month 5.
  • A local codebase index and more than 60 spoken commands resolved by fixed rule.

In fairness

  • Four platforms. If you write on Windows, an iPhone or an Android device, Flit cannot help you at all.
  • A genuinely usable free tier at 8,000 words a week, with the personal dictionary included.
  • Team management, centralised billing, SSO, SCIM, audit logs and enforced HIPAA controls on the paid tiers. Flit has no team story whatsoever.

Listed because they are true. None of them changes the answer if you dictate on a Mac and want your words to stay there.

What actually decides it

The pricing page tells you where the words go

Typeless never uses the word cloud, but its own pricing page settles it. A free tier capped at 8,000 words a week has to be counted somewhere, and a paid tier selling priority access during high demand has to be queued somewhere. Neither is possible for a model running on your machine. Their retention promise is real and worth something, but it is a policy someone maintains rather than a property of the software. Flit makes no request to dictate, so retention, queue position and outage are questions that never arise.

Being metered by the word is its own cost

Pro is $12 a month billed yearly, or $30 monthly: $144 in year 1, $432 by year 3. Flit is $49 once for up to 2 Macs, and $87 across the same 3 years even if you take every optional renewal. But the meter matters as much as the money. 8,000 words a week is roughly 1,100 a day, which a working writer passes before lunch, and the free tier exists so that you feel that ceiling. Flit has no ceiling to feel, because there is no counter.

Where Typeless is plainly ahead

Four platforms is not close, and if your day spans a Mac and a phone this comparison ends there. Flit is macOS only by choice, which is why the notch HUD, the accessibility layer and the Neural Engine path fit as well as they do, and it is also why it will never follow you to another device. On languages the gap has closed: 99 against their 100+ is a rounding difference, and every one of ours runs on your machine.

The verdict

Choose Flit if

your writing happens on a Mac and you want it to stay there, with no account and one payment.

Join the waitlist

7 days free · $29 once, up to 2 Macs · macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon

Choose Typeless if

you write on more than a Mac, you need 100+ languages, or you want team controls like SSO and audit logs.

Questions

Is Typeless local or cloud?

Cloud. Their site avoids the word, but its pricing page counts your words weekly and sells priority access during high demand, and neither is possible without a server doing the transcribing. The zero retention promise is about what happens to your speech after it arrives, not about whether it is sent. Flit makes no network request at all, which you can confirm with a network monitor in a minute.

Which is cheaper?

Typeless is free if you stay under 8,000 words a week. Past that, Pro is $144 a year against $49 once for Flit, and the subscription passes the license in month 5. Flit has no free tier and no word limit either: you buy it once and dictate as much as you like, forever.

Does Flit work on Windows or my phone?

No. Flit is macOS only, on Apple silicon. Typeless covers macOS, Windows, iOS and Android, so if your writing spans devices that is a real reason to choose it.

Pricing

One price. Yours forever.

You will buy Flit once and it is yours permanently, on up to 2 Macs, with 12 months of updates. No subscription, no account, no upsell.

Launch pricing

First 100 licenses

Once they are gone, Personal steps to $39, then $49. Lifetime goes to $99.

Personal

Most people

$29

was $49

Yours forever, on 2 Macs. Updates for a year.

Lifetime

$79

was $99

Yours forever, on 2 Macs. Every update, forever.

Not on sale yet. These are the prices Flit will launch at. macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon. 7 days free first, no card, and a 30-day refund.

Both include

  • Every feature. There is no Pro tier and nothing is held back.
  • All 99 languages and every local model, downloadable free.
  • Developer mode, snippets, the dictionary that learns, a style per app.
  • No account. Flit never asks who you are.

Questions? The pricing page answers the usual ones. If a future major version is ever a paid upgrade, you will hear it from us before you pay for anything.