Comparison

Flit vs Willow Voice

Nothing to certify

Built for compliance, on every platform

The short answer

Flit answers the security question by removing it: there is no server, no account, and nothing retained, so there is nothing to certify or breach. Willow answers it with paperwork, SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA, which is what a procurement team asks for and a genuinely different route to the same worry. For an individual or a small team, not moving the data beats a promise about how it is handled in transit.

Side by side

  Flit Willow Voice
Where transcription happens Your Mac Not stated; offline mode offered
Price $49 once Not published on site
Account required No Not stated
Platforms macOS only Mac, Windows, iPhone
Compliance certifications None, and none needed SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA
Works with no internet Fully Offline mode offered
Knows your codebase Indexes it locally Not stated
Exact times and commands Fixed rules Not stated
Languages 99, 25 streaming 100+

Compared against Willow Voice’s own published information. “Not stated” means they do not publish that detail. Prices change, so confirm before you buy.

Why people pick Flit

  • There is no server to certify, because there is no server. Audio and text never leave your Mac.
  • A published price. Willow does not list one on its site.
  • No account.
  • A local codebase index and per-app tone rules.
  • Deterministic formatting for times, punctuation, work vocabulary, snippets, and dictionary words.

In fairness

  • SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA compliance, which is what a procurement team actually asks for.
  • Mac, Windows, and iPhone.

Listed because they are true. None of them changes the answer if you dictate on a Mac and want your words to stay there.

What actually decides it

Two answers to the same question

Compliance certification and keeping everything on your own machine solve the same worry from opposite ends. Willow says: your data goes to our servers, and here is the audited proof that we handle it correctly. Flit says: your data never goes anywhere, so there is nothing to audit. For a regulated organization the certificate is often the requirement. For an individual, not moving the data is a stronger guarantee than a promise about how it is handled.

What we cannot tell you

Willow does not publish pricing on its site and does not say whether transcription happens on your Mac or in the cloud. We are not going to guess at either. If those matter to your decision, ask them directly, and treat any comparison page that states them confidently with suspicion.

The verdict

Choose Flit if

you would rather the data never leave the machine than be certified in transit.

Join the waitlist

7 days free · $29 once, up to 2 Macs · macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon

Choose Willow Voice if

your organization requires SOC 2 or HIPAA paperwork, or you need Windows and iPhone.

Questions

Is Flit HIPAA compliant?

Flit is not certified for anything, and cannot be: certification applies to services that handle data, and Flit has no service. Audio and text stay on your Mac. Whether that satisfies your compliance team is a question for them.

What does Willow cost?

Its site does not publish pricing, so we are not going to state a number. Flit is $49 once.

Which is faster?

Willow states text in as little as 200ms. Flit measures about 0.7 seconds to finished, formatted text, or about 0.15 seconds with formatting set to Clean. The numbers are not directly comparable because they may be measuring different stages.

Pricing

One price. Yours forever.

You will buy Flit once and it is yours permanently, on up to 2 Macs, with 12 months of updates. No subscription, no account, no upsell.

Launch pricing

First 100 licenses

Once they are gone, Personal steps to $39, then $49. Lifetime goes to $99.

Personal

Most people

$29

was $49

Yours forever, on 2 Macs. Updates for a year.

Lifetime

$79

was $99

Yours forever, on 2 Macs. Every update, forever.

Not on sale yet. These are the prices Flit will launch at. macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon. 7 days free first, no card, and a 30-day refund.

Both include

  • Every feature. There is no Pro tier and nothing is held back.
  • All 99 languages and every local model, downloadable free.
  • Developer mode, snippets, the dictionary that learns, a style per app.
  • No account. Flit never asks who you are.

Questions? The pricing page answers the usual ones. If a future major version is ever a paid upgrade, you will hear it from us before you pay for anything.