Personal
Most people$29
was $49
Yours forever, on 2 Macs. Updates for a year.
Comparison
A local toolkit, on a subscription
The short answer
Flit and Yaps both keep your voice on your own machine, so the choice is about focus and how you pay. Yaps is a toolkit: dictation, file transcription, captions, voice notes with a markdown vault, read-aloud and translation, across Mac, Windows, Linux, Android, and iOS, for $12 a month billed yearly with an account. Flit does one job, dictation, and does more of it: text appears while you speak, spoken code names are repaired against your open project, more than 60 commands resolve by fixed rule, and it dictates in 99 languages against around 25. It costs $49 once, needs no account, and the local claim is verifiable in a minute with wifi off. If you want the notes, the files and the other platforms, Yaps is a fair subscription. If you want the best local dictation on a Mac and to stop paying for it, Flit.
| | Yaps | |
|---|---|---|
| Where transcription happens | Your Mac, no cloud path | Your device |
| Price | $49 once, up to 2 Macs | $12/mo billed yearly, or $15/mo. Free tier is mobile only |
| Account required | No | Yes, for the desktop apps |
| Platforms | macOS only | Mac, Windows, Linux, Android, iOS |
| Mac support | macOS 14+, Apple silicon | macOS 13+, Intel too |
| Text appears as you speak | Yes | Not stated |
| Works with no internet | Fully | Yes, after models are installed |
| Transcribes audio files | No | Yes, with SRT captions and speaker labels |
| Voice notes and vault | No | Yes, markdown vault with sync |
| Languages | 99, 25 streaming, all local | Around 25, with auto-detect |
| Knows your codebase | Indexes it locally | No |
| Exact times and commands | Fixed rules | Not documented |
Compared against Yaps’s own published information. “Not stated” means they do not publish that detail. Prices change, so confirm before you buy.
In fairness
Listed because they are true. Yaps is local, and its privacy policy says so in plain terms: core dictation, cleanup, transcription and notes are processed on the device. What sets the two apart is not where the audio goes. It is how much dictation each one does, and whether you are still paying for it in three years.
Both process your speech on your own machine, and both say so on their privacy pages, so this comparison is not the usual cloud-versus-local argument. It is about what you pay for local processing. Yaps charges $12 a month billed yearly, or $15 monthly, and reserves the Mac app for paying customers after a 7-day trial: $144 in year 1, $432 by year 3. Flit is $49 once for up to 2 Macs. A model running on your own hardware costs its maker nothing per dictation, which is why we think it should be bought once, and it is the whole reason Flit is priced the way it is.
Yaps is honest about being broad: dictation is one tab among transcription, captions, notes, read-aloud, translation and a resource library. If you want one app for all of that, it is a fair offer and Flit is not competing for it. Flit spends the same effort on the single job. Streaming text, a codebase index, more than 60 commands resolved by rule rather than by a model, voice editing of selected text, and 99 languages are the result. If you dictate all day, the depth matters more than the breadth.
Five platforms, Intel Macs, macOS 13, and a free tier on your phone. Flit is macOS 14 on Apple silicon by choice, because the notch HUD, the accessibility layer and the Neural Engine path depend on it, and that choice will never put it on your phone. If your notes need to move between a phone and a laptop without a cloud in the middle, the Yaps vault with end-to-end encrypted sync is a genuinely good answer that Flit has no equivalent to.
Choose Flit if
dictation on a Mac is the job, you want text as you speak, and you would rather pay once than every month.
Join the waitlist7 days free · $29 once, up to 2 Macs · macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon
Choose Yaps if
you want file transcription, voice notes and dictation in one subscription, or you dictate on Windows, Linux or a phone.
Local. Its privacy policy states that dictation, cleanup, transcription, read-aloud, translation and notes are processed on your device, with the network used for account sign-in, billing, model downloads, optional encrypted note sync and diagnostics. Flit is local too, with no account and no sync, so the only connections it ever makes are for updates and licensing.
Flit, on any horizon past four months. Yaps Pro is $12 a month billed yearly or $15 month to month, and the Mac app is only available on Pro after a 7-day trial. Flit is $49 once for up to 2 Macs.
Yes, on macOS 13 or later, with separate Apple silicon and Intel builds. Flit requires macOS 14 and Apple silicon, so on an older Mac Yaps is an option and Flit is not.
No. Flit types what you say into the app you are using and nothing else. If recorded files or a notes vault are part of what you need, Yaps or MacWhisper do that job and Flit does not.
Pricing
You will buy Flit once and it is yours permanently, on up to 2 Macs, with 12 months of updates. No subscription, no account, no upsell.
Launch pricing
First 100 licenses
Once they are gone, Personal steps to $39, then $49. Lifetime goes to $99.
Personal
Most people$29
was $49
Yours forever, on 2 Macs. Updates for a year.
Lifetime
$79
was $99
Yours forever, on 2 Macs. Every update, forever.
Not on sale yet. These are the prices Flit will launch at. macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon. 7 days free first, no card, and a 30-day refund.
Both include
Team
Per Mac$195
$39 per Mac, once, with a year of updates. One key for everyone.
$34 per Mac from 10.
More than 50? Let us talk.
How a team license works
12 months of updates, one renewal date for the whole key.
macOS 14 or later · Apple silicon
Questions? The pricing page answers the usual ones. If a future major version is ever a paid upgrade, you will hear it from us before you pay for anything.
Still deciding?
Flit vs Wispr Flow
The subscription leader, in the cloud
Flit vs Superwhisper
A powerful local toolbox, at a price
Flit vs SpeakMac
The other local, buy-once Mac tool
Flit vs Spokenly
Free, cross-platform, cloud on the upsell
Flit vs VoiceInk
Open source, local, and cheaper
Flit vs FluidVoice
Free, open source, local-first