“Private dictation app” means one specific thing, and it is worth being precise, because the phrase is used loosely enough to be almost meaningless in marketing copy. It means the speech recognition runs on your own machine, so the audio of your voice never leaves it.
It does not mean “we do not store your audio.” It does not mean “encrypted in transit.” Those are promises about what a server does with your voice after receiving it, which is a different question with a different failure mode. Encryption in transit protects your recording from an eavesdropper on the way; it does nothing about the company at the other end, its subprocessors, its breach next year, or a subpoena. On-device processing means there is no server in the story at all, so none of those questions have to be answered.
The distinction is testable, which is rare for a privacy claim. Most require you to trust a document. This one takes a minute.
The network-off test. Turn off wifi. Dictate. A truly on-device tool keeps working, because there was never a request to make. A cloud tool stops. No policy document survives contact with this test.
Everything ranked below passes it, with the caveats stated. Prices were read from each product’s own page between July and August 2026. Flit is ours and it is first, because nothing else keeps every part of the job on your machine while still delivering finished text as you speak. The checklist at the end is the one we want you to run on us.
Private dictation apps for Mac, ranked
| Tool | Price | Offline | Account | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flit | $49 once, 2 Macs | Fully | No | Live formatted dictation, everything local |
| Superwhisper | Free tier · $249.99 lifetime | With local models | Yes, to activate | Recorded files as well as dictation |
| VoiceInk | $25 to $49 once | Fully | No | Auditable source code |
| SpeakMac | $29 once (1 Mac) | Fully | No | Intel Macs and macOS 13 |
| FluidVoice | Free, open source | With cloud cleanup off | No | Free and open source |
| Apple Dictation | Free, built in | Supported languages | No | Occasional use at zero cost |
| Yaps | $12/mo billed yearly | Fully, once models are installed | Yes, on desktop | Local dictation on Windows, Linux, or a phone as well |
| MacWhisper | Free tier · about €59 Pro | Fully | No | Transcribing recordings, not live dictation |
1. Flit
The most private dictation app you can put on a Mac and still enjoy using. Every part of the job runs locally: the speech models, the formatting pass, the personal dictionary, and the optional screen-context reading. Your dictation history never leaves the machine.
There is no account, and that matters more than it sounds. No account means no profile for usage to attach to, no credentials to be breached, no terms that can change under you, and nothing to delete when you walk away. Most tools on this list ask you to trust a policy. This one has nothing to make a policy about.
Screen context deserves a specific note, because it is the most common way a nominally local tool leaks. Flit reads the focused text field to write a reply that fits the conversation, holds it in memory for exactly one dictation, and never writes it to disk or sends it anywhere. Several competing tools use screen context by uploading it.
$49 once for up to 2 Macs. The honest limits: macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon, and it does not transcribe recorded audio files. The privacy page documents the network-off test precisely so you do not have to take any of this on faith.
2. Superwhisper
Choose local models and both live dictation and its real specialty, recorded-file transcription, stay on your machine. Cloud models are available and opt-in, which makes this a tool whose privacy depends on a setting rather than on architecture. That is a meaningful difference from the tools that have no cloud path at all: verify the setting, and re-verify it after major updates. An account is required to activate. Lifetime is $249.99, which is fair for the breadth.
3. VoiceInk
The source is available to read, which is the strongest privacy assurance on this list, because you are not evaluating a claim about the software, you are evaluating the software. For a buyer who has to justify a tool to a security team, “here is the source” ends the conversation faster than any policy page. From $25 once, no account. No streaming text as you speak, and no project awareness.
4. SpeakMac
Local, no account, $29 once for one Mac. The only paid entry here that supports Intel Macs and macOS 13, which makes it the only option for a large amount of still-working hardware. The formatting layer is thinner and several behaviors are not publicly stated, so run your own network-off test rather than inferring the answer.
5. FluidVoice
Free, GPLv3, local-first, and it runs on Intel Macs. One setting decides whether it belongs on this list for you: an optional cloud cleanup step routed through OpenAI or Groq. Left on, your transcript goes to a third party. Leave it off and everything stays local. Check it after updates, not just at install. Polish moves at community pace, which is the honest cost of free.
6. Apple Dictation
On-device for supported languages, free, and already installed. The trade is that the output is a raw transcript needing manual cleanup: punctuation spoken aloud, no learned vocabulary that persists, no per-app behavior. For a few private sentences a week it is genuinely enough, and it is the correct first thing to try before paying anyone.
7. Yaps
The only entry that stays local off the Mac as well: Windows, Linux, Android, and iOS. Its privacy policy states that dictation, cleanup, transcription, and notes are processed on the device, with the network used for sign-in, billing, model downloads and an optional end-to-end encrypted note sync. That sync is item four on the checklist below: a choice, and one to make deliberately. What it does not remove is the account or the bill. The Mac app is subscription only, $12 a month billed yearly, and dictation covers around 25 languages, with streaming not stated. Right for a private setup that spans a phone and a Windows or Linux machine; on a Mac alone, the buy-once tools above do more.
8. MacWhisper
Not a live dictation tool, and included because the private job is often not dictation at all. If what you need is transcribing recordings, interviews, memos, or meetings you recorded with consent, MacWhisper does that locally and does it well, with a free tier and a Pro license around €59.
Verifying the claim yourself, at three levels of rigor
Every tool above says it processes locally. Here is how to stop taking anyone’s word for it, ours included. Each level is more work and more conclusive than the last.
Level 1: the network-off test (one minute)
Turn off wifi, and disconnect ethernet if you use it. Dictate a sentence into any app.
- Text appears normally. The recognition ran on your machine. There was no request to make.
- Nothing happens, or you get an error. The tool needs a server, and the marketing language was about what happens after your audio arrives there.
This is enough for most people, and it is the test to run before a trial expires. It has one blind spot: an app could queue uploads and send them when the network returns. Level 3 closes that.
Level 2: watch it work (five minutes)
Open Activity Monitor, choose the Network tab, and find the app. Note its “Sent Bytes” figure. Dictate a long paragraph. Check again.
Local processing produces essentially no upload from dictating: an update check or a license ping is normal and small. A number that grows in proportion to how much you said is audio going somewhere. Speech audio is not small, and this shows up clearly if you dictate for a full minute.
Level 3: a per-app firewall (definitive)
Install a per-application firewall such as Little Snitch or LuLu, the free open-source option. Both prompt you when an app attempts an outbound connection and let you see the destination.
This is the level that answers the question completely, because it shows you what the app tries to do rather than what it achieved while you were watching. Run it for a normal working day. A local dictation tool should attempt an update check and nothing else. Anything talking to a speech API is not a local dictation tool, whatever its homepage says.
If you prefer the command line, nettop -p <pid> shows live per-process
traffic without installing anything, though it is less readable than a
firewall’s prompts.
What still leaves, even when the audio does not
This is the part most privacy roundups skip, and it is where a technically true “on-device” claim can still fail your actual requirement. Local audio is necessary and it is not sufficient. Check all five:
- Screen context. Tools that write better replies by reading surrounding text may upload that text. This is the most common leak, because it does not feel like audio and so does not get covered by the audio claim.
- The transcript, after recognition. Some local tools run a cleanup or rewriting pass through a cloud language model. Your voice stayed home; your words did not.
- Analytics and crash reporting. Usually harmless metadata, and worth knowing about anyway. Crash reports sometimes carry more context than intended.
- Dictionary and settings sync. If your custom terms follow you between devices, they are on a server. That is a feature with a cost, not a contradiction, but it should be a choice you made.
- The history. Where do past dictations live, in what format, and who or what can read them? A local file is fine. A local file included in your automatic cloud backup is a different answer to a different question.
Beyond the Mac, honestly
This site knows the Mac field cell by cell. Elsewhere we can point in a direction and should not pretend to more than that.
On Windows, the built-in Voice Access and the older Windows Speech Recognition run locally and cost nothing, and Dragon remains the heavyweight of the category, Windows only since the Mac version was discontinued in 2018. Cross-platform, the do-it-yourself route is running Whisper locally, which is free if your time is free and genuinely excellent if you enjoy that kind of setup. We have not verified third-party Windows tools the way we verify Mac tools, so we will not rank them, and you should be skeptical of any Mac-focused site that does.
Who this actually matters for
Privacy arguments land differently depending on what you write, and it is worth being specific rather than general.
- Lawyers. Privilege is not a preference. Sending client communications through a third-party processor is a disclosure question, and a local tool means there is nothing to disclose. See dictation for lawyers.
- Clinicians and therapists. Session notes are the most sensitive text most people will ever write. A local tool removes the vendor from the chain entirely. See the clinicians page.
- Anyone under a vendor review. If your employer’s security process asks “where is the data processed,” a local tool turns a three-week questionnaire into a one-line answer.
- Journalists and researchers. Source protection is a threat model, not a policy preference, and it does not survive an unnecessary third party.
- Everyone else. Most writing is not sensitive. The honest case here is simply that a tool with no server cannot have a breach, an outage, or a change of ownership that changes the terms.
The five-point checklist
Applies to every product on this page, ours included:
- Run the network-off test. One minute, no trust required.
- Find where audio processing happens on the vendor’s own site, not on a review site. “On-device,” “local,” or “offline” should be stated plainly rather than implied by adjacent words.
- Check what leaves besides audio, using the five items above.
- Look for the account requirement. No account means no profile for usage to attach to.
- Ask what the history is. Where past dictations live, and who can read them.
For the wider category beyond privacy, see the 15 best dictation apps for Mac. If you are here because you are leaving a specific subscription, the best Wispr Flow alternatives covers that switch in detail.